Navigation Menu

The Board of Trustees is comprised of volunteer parents and dedicated community members who are committed to quality Jewish education. The Board sets policy and standards, ensures fiscal responsibility, and acts as ambassadors for the school.  The Board encourages parental and community involvement in Yavneh and actively solicits support for the school. 
2016-2017 Board of Trustees  
Executive Committee
General Board
Arnnon Geshuri Wendy Askenas
President Jennifer Copaken
  Ishai Froind
Adam Dorsay David Gaertner
V.P. of Strategic Planning Scott Guggenheim
  Yuval Minkowski
Rebecca Dishotsky Rabbi Shoshana Ohriner
V.P. of Development Candice Reimers
  Jeff Salowe
Seth Silverstein Howard Solovei
  Rabbi Josh Berkenwald
Steven Dick Community Rabbi
Immediate Past President  
  Zvi Weiss
Rebecca Silberstein Head of School - Ex Officio
YPA President - Ex Officio  

Seth Silverstein:  Seth is married with two children at Yavneh.  He has worked for 20 years throughout Silicon Valley in FInance, Marketing, and Business Analytics.  He loves good food, cooking, and fitness (to balance all the good food!).  He has spent the past 4 years as the Treasurer and member of the Board at Yavneh.

Rebecca Dishotsky: Rebecca is a Silicon Valley native, working as a communications professional at eBay. With her husband, Kirk, and two growing daughters, she enjoys music, gardening, cooking, movies, hiking and spending time with family and friends. The family are members of Temple Emanu-El in San Jose and live in a 100+ year old Craftsman home in the Rose Garden area.

Jennifer Copaken: Jennifer is an east coast transplant and Yavneh parent. With a BA from Harvard in History and Literature, she joined Teach for America and taught in New York City public schools. Inspired by her students, she returned to graduate school and went on to a career in musical theater choreography. She continues to find ways to pursue passions for education and the arts. Jennifer and her family are members of Congregation Sinai.

Back to top

Adam Dorsay: Adam works as a licensed psychologist in private practice in San Jose. He also serves as an educator and consultant to Facebook’s eCrimes Department, whose primary mission is the protection of children. Adam is the father of two boys at Yavneh and recognizes the importance of a Jewish education (especially because he and his wife met when they were eight-years-old in Hebrew School!).

David Gaertner:  David has been on Yavneh’s Board since 2005 including serving as Treasurer for three years. David has held various leadership positions in software and sales at IBM where he has worked for over 25 years. He earned MBA and MS Software Engineering degrees from the University of Texas at Austin as well as a BA from UC Berkeley. His children’s Yavneh education continues to positively influence them today.

Ishai Froind:  Ishai is the father of a 1st and 3rd grader at Yavneh. He is a product and marketing management professional working for eBay. Born and raised in Israel Ishai embodies the perspective of the Israeli community in Silicon Valley. He holds an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management as well as law and accounting degrees from the Tel Aviv University.

Back to top

Jeffrey Salowe:  Jeff is a software developer at Google, Inc. and has over 25 years of experience as a software architect, inventor and educator.  He holds 20 patents and has published numerous papers. Jeffrey received his Ph.D from Rutgers University.   He is the father of three children who attend or have attended Yavneh.

Wendy Askenas:  Wendy was a Yavneh parent for 11 years.  She enjoyed being an active volunteer during those years, many as room parent and working on the yearbook.  Wendy has volunteered in Jewish communal life including Jewish Federation, Jewish Family Service and both synagogues she attends. She received a bachelor’s degree and MBA and has finally transitioned from years as a professional volunteer back into the working world, specializing in HR Benefits for Fortune 100 companies.  She is enjoying her third year on the board.

Howard Solovei:  Howard is a parent of two former Yavneh students now in middle school.  A UC Berkeley graduate, he is also a member of Congregation Sinai and spent two years at Machon Pardes in Jerusalem. Howard has spent over 30 years as a finance professional, and is now managing private capital funds invested in marketplace lending. He enjoys getting outdoors with his family.

Back to top

Candice Reimers:  Candice is a Lead on Google’s Education Research Team.  Prior to her role in Silicon Valley, she worked in Switzerland, Mexico, and the U.S. as a school administrator and teacher at a variety of academic institutions.  She holds a doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania as well as an M.Ed and M.A. in education.

Yuval Olivier Minkowski:   Yuval is a parent of Yavneh students for over seven years. He is an international professional with practice through Europe, Israel and the U.S.  Yuval has worked with large technology companies in the telecom, finance, and entertainment industries as well as with a few startups.  Yuval holds a bachelor’s degree in International Relations from Hebrew University of Jerusalem and a master’s degree from Tel Aviv University.

Scott Evan Guggenheim: Recipient of the "Award for Excellence in Theatre-for-Youth and Development of New Audiences" by the American Theatre Wing (giver of the coveted Tony award) and the Helen Diller Family Fund Award for Excellence in Jewish Education, Scott is an accomplished producer, director, playwright, educator and not-for-profit administrator. He has created award-winning and nationally recognized works for regional, non-profit, and commercial theatre companies and educational institutions. Along with his wife and his brother, Scott created The Retro Dome and leads the team at Guggenheim Entertainment, Inc, an events, design, and marketing firm. Scott also serves as the Executive Director of The California Academy for the Creative and Performing Arts. Scott has a daughter in 8th grade at Yavneh where she has attended since kindergarten.

Back to top

Shoshana Ohriner: Shoshana is a Conservative Rabbi with training as a multi-faith hospital chaplain. She is very involved with the local Jewish community, and leads the Shabbat and holiday services for young children at Congregation Beth David. In addition, Shoshana has a passion for cooking and baking and runs two successful kosher food blogs, along with teaching occasional cooking classes. She is the mother of three boys, all current or future yavneh students.

Donate Online | Faculty/Staff | Calendar | Location/Contact

14855 Oka Road, Suite 100 Los Gatos, CA 95032 phone: (408) 984-6700 email:
Yavneh Day School, accredited by the California Association of Independent Schools, is a beneficiary of the
Jewish Federation of Silicon Valley, and a member of the Solomon Schechter Day School Association.
Staff Login